HCPS FL Logo Teaching and Learning
Information Item
DATE: Tuesday, December 13, 2016
TO: School Board Members
FROM: Jeff Eakins, Superintendent
Recognition of Hillsborough County Public Schools (HCPS) Outstanding Social Studies Teacher of the Year for Elementary, Middle, and High Schools - 2016/2017 School Year (Office of Teaching and Learning)

Each year the district selects the HCPS Outstanding Social Studies Teacher of the Year for elementary, middle, and high schools.  School faculties nominate a teacher to represent their school and the nominees submit a portfolio for committee review.  Winners are selected based on professionalism, teaching methods, and student/teacher relationships.  These teachers exemplify best practices in the teaching of social studies.  Winners are entered in the state competition to select the Florida Council of Social Studies (FCSS) Outstanding Social Studies Teacher of the Year and are invited to attend an awards ceremony and luncheon in their honor at the state social studies conference.  We are proud to recognize our top winners for their accomplishments:

  • HCPS Teacher of the Year, Elementary Social Studies:  Jennifer Shaffer, Lutz Elementary School
  • HCPS Teacher of the Year, Middle School Social Studies:  Debra Kremp, Franklin Middle Magnet School
  • HCPS Teacher of the Year, High School Social Studies:  Caitlin Kelley, Sickles High School
• Develop, recognize, and reward employees
This item is for recognition and has no financial impact to the district.
SUBMITTED BY:  Barbara Hancock, Instructional Leadership Director, Elementary
Elizabeth Agresta   Dr. Alberto Vázquez
Chief Academic Officer, Office of Teaching and Learning
(813) 272-4221
  Chief of Staff
(813) 272-4986
    A 05
Hillsborough County Public Schools (Florida) * Mtg.#20161213_774 (Board Recognition Meeting) * Section A Item# 05