HCPS FL Logo Teaching and Learning
Information Item
DATE: Tuesday, May 9, 2017
TO: School Board Members
FROM: Jeff Eakins, Superintendent
Recognition of the Partnership to Advance School Success (PASS) Program at Lanier Elementary School (Office of Teaching and Learning)
The Florida Council of 100 developed the PASS Program to close the achievement gap in education. Identified schools are selected to participate by representatives from the PASS Program.  A chief executive officer (CEO) of a major Florida corporation is teamed with the school principal for three years. The CEO assists in incorporating successful business strategies into school management techniques.

In addition to mentoring the principal, the CEO commits funds.  Matching funds are provided by the Florida Department of Education and Council for Educational Change established by the Florida Annenberg Challenge, while the school district provides in-kind services. The team works hands-on with an education coach improving operations and academics. The goal of the PASS Program is to raise the school’s grade to an “A” over the three-year life of the partnership. We would like to recognize the following individuals:
  • Sherry Clarke, PASS Coordinator, Northern/Central Florida
  • Phil Casey, PASS Program Funder, Bush Ross Attorney at Law
  • Dr. Elaine Liftin, President and Executive Director, Council for Educational Change
  • Gene Marshall, Council for Educational Change Board Member, Past-Chair
  • John Giordano, PASS Partner for Lanier Elementary School
  • Rachael Odea, Principal, Lanier Elementary School
  • Sherry Ogden, PASS, Coach
• Improve the high school graduation rate
This agenda item is for recognition and has no financial impact to the district.
SUBMITTED BY:  Barbara B. Hancock, Instructional Leadership Director, Elementary
Deborah Cook   Dr. Alberto Vázquez
Chief Academic Officer, Office of Teaching and Learning
(813) 272-4221
  Chief of Staff
(813) 272-4986
    A 02
Hillsborough County Public Schools (Florida) * Mtg.#20170509_812 (Board Recognition Meeting) * Section A Item# 02