HCPS FL Logo Teaching and Learning
Information Item
DATE: Tuesday, May 9, 2017
TO: School Board Members
FROM: Jeff Eakins, Superintendent
Recognition of the 2016/2017 Florida Association of Science Teachers (FAST) Outstanding Teacher of the Year Award (Office of Teaching and Learning)
FAST is the state's largest non-profit professional organization dedicated to improving science education at all levels, pre-school through college.  The association's membership includes science teachers, science supervisors, administrators, scientists, representatives of business and industry, and others interested in science education.

The Outstanding Teacher Awards are designed to recognize the significant contributions of teachers to science education.
  • Participation in professional organizations showing active leadership through the participation in professional science and science education organizations at the local, state, and national levels.
  • Maintaining a classroom/laboratory environment that encourages a positive student attitude toward science, enhances student curiosity, participation, and promotes scientific literacy.
  • Developing and using innovative instructional materials and new approaches to the teaching of science.
  • Effectively using community resources including projects, speakers, and field trips.
  • Continuing education, attending workshops, and professional conferences to continue to develop as an effective educator.
This year's award was given to Tiffany Oliver, International Baccalaureate Biology Teacher, Robinson High School.
• Improve the high school graduation rate • Develop, recognize, and reward employees
This item is for recognition and has no financial impact to the district.
SUBMITTED BY:  Larry R. Plank, Ed.S., Director K-12 Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics
Deborah Cook   Dr. Alberto Vázquez
Chief Academic Officer, Office of Teaching and Learning
(813) 272-4221
  Chief of Staff
(813) 272-4986
    A 14
Hillsborough County Public Schools (Florida) * Mtg.#20170509_812 (Board Recognition Meeting) * Section A Item# 14